## WALL OF FAME INDUCTION CEREMONY

On Sunday, June 28, 2016, the sixth Pine Valley Central School District Wall of Fame Induction Ceremony was held at the Pine Valley Central Jr./Sr. High School Library at 11:00 am. This year's inductees were A. Sharon Howe Sweeting, Hugh Duckwall and R. Jason Henry. The purpose of this program is to honor graduates from Pine Valley Central School, living or deceased, who have distinguished themselves in a specific field of endeavor, in civic affairs, in humanitarian affairs, or in activities which merit special recognition.

The Wall of Fame Committee felt that they each inductee had a unique background with something beneficial to offer to our graduating seniors and so asked that each offer a short speech at the afternoon graduation ceremony held on June 28<sup>th</sup>.

Anne Sharon Howe Sweeting, Class of 1961: Sharon's professional degrees include an AB in English from Syracuse University and an MLS in Library Science from the Catholic University of America in Washington, DC. After a brief tenure at the School of Architecture Library at the University of Maryland Sharon then went on to The Smithsonian Institution Libraries in Washington, DC first with the Cataloging Department then to the Gift and Exchange Department managing foreign publication exchanges and translations. She was then promoted to Special Assistant to the Director of Libraries for Publications and Exhibitions, where she became responsible for showcasing the very special collections. Following her husband Lester to London, England, where he was posted for the IRS, Sharon landed a position in the office of The American Ambassador Plenipotentiary working with a speech writer where, in the days before Google and Wikepedia, she researched odd facts and articles. After moving back to the US, Sharon went to work as a librarian at the IRS until her retirement.

While living in Hyattsville, Maryland, Sharon and her husband helped to qualify Hyattsville for its initial National Register Historic District designation. She also served as president of the Hyattsville Preservation Association. Upon retirement, Sharon & Lester became innkeepers at the Cherry Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast. She serves as the Cherry Creek Town Historian and the Cherry Creek Librarian. She sits on the cemetery committee as well as being a very active member of the Cherry Creek Community Organization. She is a Trustee of the Chautauqua County Historical Society and is a member of the Amish Trail as well as working on building the Chautauqua County Horse Trails System, working tirelessly in building tourism in our area.

**Hugh Duckwall, Class of 1968:** Hugh has achieved many accolades over his lifetime beginning at Pine Valley where he lettered in four years of football, basketball, volleyball, baseball and track and field. His passion for sports and competition fueled his life-long achievements. He graduated from Fredonia State with a Bachelors degree in elementary education and secondary social studies and lettered in track and field. The athletic theme continued when Hugh entered as a member of the Professional Writers Association while covering and traveling with the Buffalo Sabres from 1977-1978. He spent the majority of his life as an elementary education teacher at Little Valley Central School (Cattaraugus-Little Valley) where he coached many sports for years but was also a small business owner from 1999-2005. Though he retired in 2005, he just finished his  $43^{rd}$  consecutive year of coaching at Cattaraugus-Little Valley /Little Valley. He has also coached at the Jim Kelly Football Camp from 1989 to the present.

Hugh is a member of the Cattaraugus County Sports Hall of Fame, was the facilities committee chairperson for the \$64 million dollar Cattaraugus-Little Valley building project, is a current member of the Cattaraugus-Little Valley All Sports Boosters Club and is a current member and golf tournament chairman for the Timberwolves Alliance Foundation.

**R. Jason Henry, Class of 1988:** Jason did an internship in the NYS Assembly in 1991 while a junior at Marist College. After graduation, he was a staffer in the NYS Legislature for three years followed by three years as a lobbyist for the Big 5 NY City School districts for three years. Jason went next to the NYC Board of Education as a Financial Analyst managing the funding of Universal Pre K in its initial year. He was a lobbyist for the Board of Education and played a large role in achieving fiscal equity. While next working for the CFO of the board, he began spearheading efforts of procurement reform. This led to managing 80 staffers and a \$2 billion annual budget. In 2010 Jason joined Con Edison as director of the supply chain, managing a \$1.4 billion annual contract spending budget. Along with this responsibility, he manages a staff of 30 people. Con Edison is the primary electric, gas and steam provider in New York City for 4 million customers.

While at the Big 5, Jason researched and authored a report on school building conditions that helped lead to reform in the funding of school construction throughout New York State. In 2008 he was awarded the Fred Hayes award for emerging leaders in government. In 2014 he was selected to attend Con Edison's Business Academy for emerging leaders. He was recognized by the company for outstanding performance in response to hurricane Sandy. A highlight included establishing "mobile cities" for over 5,000 out-of-state first responders.

Jason is a member of the Institute for Supply Management and is continually involved and supports Kevin Guest House in Buffalo. He is a mentor to others in the firm with sight disabilities encouraging them to stay in the workforce and continue to increase their challenges Jason is legally blind and continues to excel professionally as demonstrated by his positions of increasing responsibilities.

These three join past inductees: Randy Allnatt, Thomas Allnatt, Bill Bergey, Bruce Bergey, Robert Brown, Tim Brown, Cindy Burkhardt, Rhodella (Ennis) Brown, Albert "Ab" Butcher, Ronald Chase, Betty (Hodges) Earle, Brenda (Young) Hendricks, Chuck Howard, Janet (Farley) Kirkton, Jeanne (Kendall) Matteson, Helen Merrill, Normal Merrill, Brenton Mosher, Herbert Nobles, Tim Nobles, Harold "Bus" Ray, Sylvia (Bergey) Reynolds, Genevieve (Earle Moffit) Rowland, James Sauberan, Albert "Willie" Sheldon, Craig Skurcenski, Kyle Sticek, Karen Strickland and Larry Waite.

Mike Bailey, former Booster Club President, served as emcee. A buffet-style brunch prepared by The Mustard Seed was held in their honor. Plaques were presented to each recipient commemorating their induction.

Check out the Wall of Fame page on the Pine Valley website for additional pictures from the induction ceremony. (<a href="www.pval.org">www.pval.org</a>) When you are in the Jr./Sr. High School, please be sure to view the Wall of Fame located to the left of the new gym entrance (outside wall of the band room). There you will see plaques displayed for each recipient that include their name, date of graduation and year of induction along with their picture.